Showing posts with label haunted. Show all posts
Showing posts with label haunted. Show all posts

Monday, January 16, 2017

Wolf Creek Inn

Wolf Creek Inn
This inn was originally called the “Wolf Creek Tavern” when it opened in the 1880s. It is the oldest continuously operated inn in the Pacific Northwest.

In its heyday, it serviced weary travelers that made the 16-day journey north from San Francisco to Portland, Oregon.

Jack London is said to have finished his story Valley of the Moon while staying at Wolf Creek in the summer of 1911. He is one of the spirits that have been seen and heard in the inn since his death in 1916.



In later years, Mary Pickford and Douglas Fairbanks stayed at Wolf Creek. Clark Gable, his wife Carol Lombard and Orson Wells also stayed at the inn. John Wayne rented a room while he filmed Rooster Cogburn

The inn today has a variety of spirits that still make appearances. One favorite ghost story is about a stagecoach driver named, One-Eyed Charlie Parkhurst. During the Gold Rush years Charlie was known to be one of the toughest drivers along the northern route.

Stagecoach Drivers
Quotes about Charlie include: “He drove his team hard, cussed up a storm and spat tobacco juice harder than anyone else.”

Charlie had a reputation for never missing a day’s work—except the day after payday when he was too hung over to drive.

In 1868, Charlie registered to vote, he told friends so he could vote for Ulysses S. Grant.

When Charlie Parkhurst died at the age of 67, the mortician that tended his body was in for a shock. Charlie was actually “Charlotte” an orphan girl who escaped her life by hiding as a man.

When Charlie voted in the 1868 presidential election some believe she was the first woman in the U.S to cast a vote.

For years, people who have visited Wolf Creek claim to have seen the ghost of a rough dressed man on the main floor at the inn. This ghost’s voice has been picked up on EVPs. Many believe this is One-Eyed Charlie.

But the facts point to another conclusion. Charlie died four years before the Wolf Creek Tavern opened. So it is unlikely her ghost is the one seen. But this story was too good to pass up.

This inn is owned by the state of Oregon and is on the National Register of Historic Places.

Saturday, November 26, 2016

Johnny Morehouse and His Dog

Many claim that Woodlawn Cemetery * in Dayton, Ohio is haunted. The most popular story is about the ghosts of a five year old boy and his dog.

Woodlawn Cemetery
Like many ghost stories about young children this one is more charming than scary.

In the mid 1800s residents of Dayton used a series of man-made canals to transport goods and people.

Miami and Erie Canal
The Morehouse family lived in the back of their shoe-repair shop in downtown Dayton. Behind this shop ran the Miami and Erie canal. In August of 1860, the Morehouse’s youngest son Johnny was playing near the canal with his dog. The young boy lost his balance and fell into the water.

His dog jumped in after him. He was able to pull his master out of the water but it was too late—Johnny had drowned.

The Morehouse family buried Johnny at Woodlawn Cemetery. Within days of his funeral people began to see an unusual sight. Johnny’s dog was lying on his grave and would not leave.

As the days passed people worried this dog would starve to death so they began to bring him food. Because of this dog’s faithful vigil a new headstone was carved for Johnny’s grave. It has “Johnny Morehouse” inscribed on the front and “Sweet Slumber” inscribed on one side.

It depicts a large dog enfolding Johnny tenderly. Today, this gravesite is the most visited in the cemetery. People leave offerings of coins, stuffed animals, various toys and food—in fond remembrance of this child and his devoted companion.


Offerings in remembrance.


For three months in 2008 a rumor was spread that the gravestone was vandalized. These stories were false. The head on the statue of the dog did disappear –the reason for this was with age it had fallen off. It was repaired and placed back on the statue.

Over the years, witnesses have claimed to see the ghosts of Johnny and his dog throughout the cemetery. They are seen running and playing together.

Many have heard the sounds of Johnny’s laughter as his dog barks.

Most interesting are the reports that people have seen what appears to be the statue of the dog breathing. Some have put their hands directly under the dog’s stone nostrils and felt these breaths.

*  Woodlawn is the 5th oldest garden cemetery in the U.S. Orville and Wilbur Wright are buried here as well as Erma Bombeck.

Saturday, October 1, 2016

Goliad: Presidio La Bahia

The Presidio
Two hours south of Houston, Texas on Highway 59 is Goliad, Texas. Just south of this town sits the most fought over spot in Texas history—nine different flags have flown over the Presidio La Bahia.

The presidio’s history is seeped in violence. This it is why so many people believe the area is haunted.

The most atrocious act that occurred at La Bahia happened during the Texas Revolution in March of 1836. During the Battle of Goleto, General Santa Anna’s troops were able to retake the fort from the Texas troops.

The nine different flags that flew above the fort.

342 Texas soldiers surrendered. Several days after this battle Santa Anna ordered the massacre of all these soldiers. They were marched out of the fort in three different groups and shot at point blank range. These men were buried in a mass grave at the presidio. Today a memorial stands at the site to honor them.

This is why a month later in April of 1836, Texas soldiers' rallying cry was “ Remember Goliad” * when they defeated the Mexicans and gained independence for Texas during the Battle of San Jacento.

     *  They of course also yelled, “Remember the Alamo.”

The presidio continued to be occupied by soldiers and then by priests. Today, the Catholic Diocese of Victoria owns the “Quarters” at the presidio. It is a National Historic Landmark.

In the 1960s La Bahia was rebuilt. A museum was opened that highlights the fort’s bloody history. The architecture at the presidio is considered one of the finest examples of the Spanish Colonial style in America.

Once opened, visitors began to report strange encounters at the presidio.

These reports back up the claims that restless spirits remain in the area.

Common encounters include the sounds of footsteps heard on the roof while visitors are in the Quarters area, and the sound of distance canon fire. There are also countless other reports of strange unexplained sounds around the fort--including footsteps in the wee hours.

Most chilling of all are the eyewitness reports of seeing spectral soldiers walking around the grounds.

Because of these encounters various paranormal groups have investigated La Bahia. Their evidence is presented in several videos on YouTube.

The Quarters
Today, tourists can stay overnight in one of the rooms in the Quarters area—the cost is $200.00.

In the spring—the presidio despite its otherworldly residents is quite peaceful. Wildflowers bloom on the gentle slopes that surround it. 

Thursday, September 15, 2016

The Golden Eagle

In Stephen King’s book entitled Christine a car, a vintage Plymouth Fury, named Christine, possesses its teenage owner, Ernie. Ernie does not know this car had been responsible for the deaths of the previous owners’ wife and daughter.

This car eventually also is responsible for Ernie’s death. King’s book and the film based upon it are still popular.

King is a master at writing horror stories—this genre is effective entertainment—but what is interesting is there is a car that people point to as being a real-life Christine.

The Golden Eagle is a 1964 Dodge Limited Edition. Its history reflects eerie similarities to King’s fictional car. Some consider this car haunted. Others believe it is “the most evil car in America.”

This vehicle was originally used as a police car in Old Orchard Beach, Maine. The three officers that drove the car all died in bizarre murder-suicides. Each of these officers killed their families and then themselves.

This Dodge after this was sold quickly for it now had a dark reputation. Wendy Allen’s parents bought the car. The Allen family used it on a regular basis for many years without incident. Except for one thing-- if they drove it on the highway random doors would fling open without cause.

The Golden Eagle
Wendy states her family was never harmed by the car but in the 1980s and 90s several local churches decided the car was demonic. Allen thinks this is because the car gained an unfair reputation for killing at least 14 people.

She feels people’s fears about the car are based in superstitions.

The most bizarre stories about these deaths involve children. One child in the 1960s and another in the 1980s were both hit by cars and flung across the street. Their bodies were both found under the Golden Eagle. Both died before paramedics arrived.

In 2008, another child was dared to just touch the Dodge, he then died along with the rest of his family, including their dog, two weeks later in a house fire.

After being vandalized.
In the 1980s members of local churches hearing about this strange car began to vandalize it. After this damage was done, two leaders from these vandal groups died in two separate horrific car crashes where they both were decapitated by 18-wheelers.

Yet another four members died after being hit by lightning. Today the old Dodge is in pieces. Members of yet another church stole the car, chopped it up and placed these parts in various junkyards.

Wendy Allen upset and not believing the rumors the car is demonic requested people help her locate and retrieve the car. The Dodge’s parts today are hidden so people can’t find them.

So did these deaths actually happen? Wendy Allen says they did but that the connections to her family car are all just coincidence.

Wednesday, August 10, 2016

Ohio’s Engine House No. 16

Engine No. 16
This fire station located on North Fourth Street first opened in 1908 in downtown Columbus, Ohio. At first, a horse drawn wagon was used then later a more modern fire engine.

While in use, Engine No. 16 was a favorite gathering place for all the area firemen. It was used for 70 plus years. When it closed in 1981 its rich past made it an ideal place for a museum about Columbus’ firefighting history.

Today the Central Ohio Fire Museum is a favorite destination for Columbus’ school children. They learn about firefighting and fire safety.

Central Ohio Fire Museum
One item that is not talked about is the firehouses’ resident ghost.

Most of the museum staff believes that a beloved ghost haunts Engine No. 16.


This ghost is Capt. George Dukeman—known more affectionately by his men as Captain D. He supervised the firehouse for many years. It is said he loved it so much he rarely went home.

He was known to make nightly rounds checking on his men and making sure everything was in its proper place in the firehouse.

No one in recent years has seen Captain D’s ghost but his presence is often felt. It is believed that he returns often to “check on everything.”

Doors open and close on their own—they often close one after another as if someone is walking through the house.

Lights that are left on are found turned off and even stranger if someone forgets to turn on a light within seconds that light turns on without assistance.

It appears a children’s display at the back of the museum is one of Captain D’s favorite spots. This display shows the dangers of fire. Cloth flames spring to life at the touch of a button.

These flames turn on inexplicably several times each day.

Another ghost that haunts the building is a horse. In the area that once housed the stations’ stable snorting and other strange sounds are often heard.

Engine House No. 16 is on the National Register of Historic Places.

Friday, July 15, 2016

The Teeter House

In the oldest section of Phoenix, Arizona sits Heritage Square. In the mid 1860s the first Anglo settlement was established in this area.

Heritage Square
In this square is a collection of homes that give the visitor a glimpse of what Phoenix was like as a small town at the turn of the 20th century.

One of these homes is the Teeter House. Today this building is used as a restaurant/ teahouse were visitors listen to jazz music under the stars on its patio.

Teeter House
The house also has a charming gift shop were the visitor can browse a variety of teakettles.

One can also find one of the original owners of this home.

Leon Bouvier, a cattleman and flour miller, built the Teeter House in 1899, He used it as a boarding house.

In 1911, Eliza Teeter bought the home and continued to run it as a boarding house. In 1919, she closed this business down and moved into the 3-bedroom home herself.

She lived here until her death in 1965. Many believe she never left her beloved home.

Visitors report hearing his or her name called softly when no one is around. Others report objects moving by themselves.

A notable incident was when an entire roll of paper towel in the bathroom unrolled onto the floor when no one was in the building.

Another hot spot in the home is the kitchen. Staff reports include pots and pans flying off shelves. One cook saw a woman walk through the restaurant and then just disappear into nowhere.

Yet another cook heard her named called when she was alone in the building.

A group of patrons saw a shelf in the dinning room dislodge and fly across the room.

The owner lost her keys one day only to find them later mysteriously under the kitchen sink.

This activity is ongoing and everyone agrees it is most likely the ghost of Eliza Teeter just trying to get everyone’s attention.

Tuesday, June 28, 2016

Taunton State Hospital

“The Devil himself is still here . . .”

This hospital was built on a 154-acre farm along the Mill River in Taunton, Massachusetts in 1854.

State Lunatic Hospital
The hospital originally named, State Lunatic Hospital was designed to treat the mentally ill. It followed a plan developed by Thomas Kirkbride. He insisted the mentally ill should be treated with care and compassion.

So this hospital was built with a large campus, recreational rooms and comfortable bedrooms. It allowed for patients to be exposed to sunlight and fresh air.

All this looked good on paper but what this hospital was for many years-- like most mental asylums in the U.S. at one time—was a place to thrown away a portion of humanity that no one wanted to be bothered by.

According to a local legend the fact that thousands of mental patients suffered here has made it one of America’s most haunted.

Click to enlarge
Some people believe the ghosts that linger are a result of the more violent patients kept at Taunton. One such patient was an infamous serial killer, Jane Toppan.

Toppan raised by a crazy relative, became a nurse. She used her patients as guinea pigs. She dosed them with a combination of drugs, which basically poisoned them.

She took a sick perverse pleasure in watching them die. It is said it aroused her. She would crawl into to bed with her victims and hold them as they slipped away. Among her victims were her foster sister and husband.

Other lore states this hospital is haunted because of an even darker history. It is said that some of the staff at the hospital—including doctors and nurses were involved in a satanic cult.

Stories are told of patients being used in experiments and offered up as sacrifices to appease the Devil.

It is said this happened on a regular basis. These staff members would escort patients to the hospitals’ basement were they performed these rituals. 


Other staff found strange markings and blood covering the basement walls. One staff member states when he went down to discover what was going on he couldn’t get passed the last stair step.

He said overwhelming feelings of pain and suffering hit him. He quit his job the same day. Years later he still finds it difficult to talk about.

Whether one believes these stories or not there is documented evidence that patients began to refuse to go down in the basement with staff. When they refused they were punished.

Even today, people claim that this area is icy cold even in summer.

Another area of that appears to have paranormal activity is the woods that surround the old hospital.

Witnesses claim to have heard moans and cries for help. Unexplained banging sounds are heard on a daily basis. Others have seen strange lights and felt icy cold drafts among these trees.

A cemetery that sits within the hospital grounds is also considered haunted. This haunting began when a patient one night escaped his room and too tired to go on hid in this cemetery.

As he crouched near a tombstone he felt a cold grip squeezing his shoulder. Thinking he had been discovered he stood up holding his arms high only to find no one there. A minute later he heard a voice whisper in his ear, “Leave.”

Terrified, this man returned to his hospital bed. Later he discovered a large bruise on his shoulder where he had felt the hand.

Chair by moonlight
in patient bedroom.
Over the years, patients and staff have seen several ghosts in the hospital. A common sighting is of a man wearing white on the third floor.

He is seen walking along the corridor. Witnesses state his form fades in and out or just vanishes.

Even more creepy he is seen slowly crawling along the wall as a shadow or his full form is seem striding across the hall in an apparent rage. More recent residents of the hospital state they have seen this figure in a corner of their bedrooms watching them.

His head appears in shadow or is faceless. This form disappears when the lights are turned on. Some speculate this is the Devil waiting for the next victim to be sacrificed.

Other activity reported at the hospital are lights turning on and off, doors slamming and cold spots.

This hospital has been in continuous use since it opened in the mid 1800s. Most of the older building have burned down, collapsed or been torn down. In the 1990s the hospital and surrounding area was placed on the National Register of Historic Places.

Old abandoned buildings
The more modern buildings on the property still provide services for the mentally ill.

Wednesday, June 8, 2016

A Glimpse of Lace Trim

Lace made at Broadlands
In 1827, Nunn's Lace Factory * was opened on the Isle of Wight. The factory was placed in Staples, Newport, a remote location, to keep its machinery that made fine French Blonde lace from prying eyes.

Pink silk lace dress
Queen Victoria wore
This factory located in what is Broadlands House today was one of the largest employers on the Island. The factory made a profit for some years. Queen Victoria and other ladies of the court were among its customers.

The lace it produced was as fine as a spider web and expensive but when tastes in fashion changed the factory lost business. By 1870, William Henry Nunn retired and having no son to leave the factory to, the business closed.

This left 200 men, women, boys and girls without a means of support.

In 1880 the old factory was used by a charitable establishment for 40 “poor spinsters and widow ladies who had fallen on hard times.” This charity also trained young working class girls as servants to be placed in positions around Newport.

Tragically one of these girls was killed at Broadlands in a fire in January of 1904. Alice Barton was 14 years old when she was left alone in the matron’s sitting room. She stood on a fender near the fireplace to reach some papers when an ember from the fire dropped on her dress.

The fabric on her dress quickly ignited. Alice suffered severe burns and she died.

The charity closed in the 1930s and in 1949 Broadlands was bought by England’s Ministry of Labour.

Broadlands House today.
Ghosts do not always appear at opportune times. Linzi Mathews would agree with this statement. In 1982, Linzi worked for the Department of Health and Social Security at Broadlands House.

One afternoon as she sat on the toilet in the first floor ladies room she saw a foot appear at the bottom of the door. But the door that enclosed her stall went all the way to the floor. It was if someone was walking right through it.

The small foot was wearing an old-fashioned shoe, pointed, grey in color and decorated with buttons. Above the shoe she could see a lace-trimmed petticoat.

She sat frozen too scared to open the door and see what was on the other side. Seconds later, she watched as the shoe vanished. Gathering her wits she opened the door but no one else was in the room despite the fact she still felt a presence.

When Linzi mentioned this encounter to her coworkers she was told that the Broadlands ghost had been seen, heard and even smelled over the years.

A strong odor of toast often accompanied appearances by this ghost. Staff members told her they often heard footsteps in the upper empty rooms late in the afternoon.

Knocking sounds and furniture being moved about was also heard on the top landing of the Broadlands House.

So who was the ghost that Linzi saw? Some feel it was Alice Barton who died in the fire, or maybe it was another distressed young women fallen on hard times that stayed at the house.

Linzi still wonders if the lace trim she saw was made at Broadlands when it was the 1800s Isle of Wight lace factory.


Traverse warp
* J. Brown and George Freeman invented the lace making machinery—known as a traverse warp, they agreed to take a banker’s son—W. H. Nunn on as a partner with his father’s support who was a Nottingham banker.