Showing posts with label ghosts. Show all posts
Showing posts with label ghosts. Show all posts

Saturday, April 8, 2017

Moundsville Penitentiary

Moundsville Penitentiary
This old prison still stands in West Virginia. It was in operation for 119 years. It was considered one of America’s most violent correctional facilities.

"Old Sparky"
Close to 1,000 men that entered its doors died while incarcerated. Some died by hanging or later by electric chair. Others were murdered by fellow inmates or took their own lives.

Moundsville was notorious for violent riots that were caused more often by overcrowding. In the 1950s the prison was filled beyond capacity—each 5X7 foot cell housed three prisoners. This was later deemed inhumane.

Moundsville was closed down in 1995 but tours are offered today. Recent staff and visitors have reported seeing shadows and hearing strange noises in the old prison.

One of the first sightings was of one inmate who was brutally murdered by fellow prisoners. The room he haunts is the reception area of the prison. It was dubbed, “The Sugar Shack” by the inmates because of what was done. Fights, rapes and murders often occurred in this room.

The Sugar Shack
The murdered inmate, R. D. Wall met his fate here. He was cut and stabbed to the point that his body was found later in many pieces. His ghost is spotted lurking in the dark corners in the Sugar Shack.

Shadow figure photographed
by Polly Gear
A dark shadow has been seen and photographed in this area as well. Other restless spirits have also been seen in other parts of this prison. Some speculate these are the men who were executed.

To add to this activity is the fact that Moundsville, West Virginia is named after its many Native American –Adena-- burial mounds. It is said these spirits also roam the area.


With all this mysterious activity would you dare to take one of the night tours offered at Moundsville?

Saturday, November 26, 2016

Johnny Morehouse and His Dog

Many claim that Woodlawn Cemetery * in Dayton, Ohio is haunted. The most popular story is about the ghosts of a five year old boy and his dog.

Woodlawn Cemetery
Like many ghost stories about young children this one is more charming than scary.

In the mid 1800s residents of Dayton used a series of man-made canals to transport goods and people.

Miami and Erie Canal
The Morehouse family lived in the back of their shoe-repair shop in downtown Dayton. Behind this shop ran the Miami and Erie canal. In August of 1860, the Morehouse’s youngest son Johnny was playing near the canal with his dog. The young boy lost his balance and fell into the water.

His dog jumped in after him. He was able to pull his master out of the water but it was too late—Johnny had drowned.

The Morehouse family buried Johnny at Woodlawn Cemetery. Within days of his funeral people began to see an unusual sight. Johnny’s dog was lying on his grave and would not leave.

As the days passed people worried this dog would starve to death so they began to bring him food. Because of this dog’s faithful vigil a new headstone was carved for Johnny’s grave. It has “Johnny Morehouse” inscribed on the front and “Sweet Slumber” inscribed on one side.

It depicts a large dog enfolding Johnny tenderly. Today, this gravesite is the most visited in the cemetery. People leave offerings of coins, stuffed animals, various toys and food—in fond remembrance of this child and his devoted companion.


Offerings in remembrance.


For three months in 2008 a rumor was spread that the gravestone was vandalized. These stories were false. The head on the statue of the dog did disappear –the reason for this was with age it had fallen off. It was repaired and placed back on the statue.

Over the years, witnesses have claimed to see the ghosts of Johnny and his dog throughout the cemetery. They are seen running and playing together.

Many have heard the sounds of Johnny’s laughter as his dog barks.

Most interesting are the reports that people have seen what appears to be the statue of the dog breathing. Some have put their hands directly under the dog’s stone nostrils and felt these breaths.

*  Woodlawn is the 5th oldest garden cemetery in the U.S. Orville and Wilbur Wright are buried here as well as Erma Bombeck.

Friday, July 22, 2016

Southern California’s Convict Lake

Sportsmen state the fish do not bite when the ghosts are near. . .

A mile and a half up in the High Sierra Mountains in California sits a Lake named after escaped convicts.

Nevada State Penitentiary at Carson City
Convict Lake was named after a group of six convicts that escaped from the Nevada State Penitentiary in September of 1871. Twenty-nine men convicted of stagecoach and train robberies escaped this prison in the Nevada desert and headed west. They crossed the border into California.

This group of convicts split up and headed into the High Sierras, which was not a wise decision for the first snowfalls in late September were already hitting these mountains.

Convict Lake
Six men from this group headed south toward the lake that is now named after them. They found themselves without shelter or supplies.

Along the trail they encountered a local mailman, William Poor. Poor immediately recognized them from the wanted posters in his office. The convicts seeing the fear in his eyes killed him in cold blood.

When word about this murder reached the locals they became enraged and formed a posse. On September 24th they found the convicts’ hideout near the lake. A bloody gun battle ensued. Deputy Sheriff Robert Morrison was killed. 

When the fight was over three men were taken into custody, the other three escaped further into the mountains and died of exposure. Two of the men captured were hanged the third man who had testified against the other two convicts was returned to prison. He was stabbed and killed by fellow prisoners for being a snitch.

Ever since, three ghosts have been seen near this lake. Two wear nooses around their necks the third has a knife sticking out of his back—it is believed he was the one who was the informer.

All three ghosts are seen covered in snow with icicles hanging from their eyebrows. Witnesses state these men have “lifeless” eyes.

These three ghosts are seen near Convict Lake year round but they are seen more often in the fall months. Locals and fishermen state that the trout in this lake do not bite when these ghosts are seen.


Witnesses state they present a gruesome sight.

Saturday, May 28, 2016

Fort Leavenworth

This fort is located in Leavenworth, Kansas near Kansas City’s airport. According to the military magazine Soldiers Fort Leavenworth is the Army’s most haunted base.

Fort Leavenworth, 1873
This fort was built in 1827. It was first used to protect travelers along the Santa Fe Trail. Its military units were involved in the Mexican-American war and the Indian wars.

The famous Buffalo Soldiers originated at Fort Leavenworth. But the fort became known for its notorious military prison—the old Disciplinary Barracks.

Disciplinary Barracks
Parts of this prison were torn down in 2004 but several buildings still stand including the guard towers.

A fort volunteer involved in haunted tours, Lessu Wojtkum states that almost every building on the base has a ghost story connected to it.

During World War ll a prison riot broke out. Afterwards, 14 men were hanged as punishment. The gallows didn’t have enough space so an elevator shaft in the prison administration building was also used.

Since, military police who patrol this area have heard screaming coming from this shaft when no on is close by.

Tower 8
An eerie story is told about one of the old watchtowers. Tower 8 was closed and never used again after a soldier killed himself with a shotgun there. Several witnesses have seen an apparition in this tower.

One sighting involves a soldier going through basic training in the late 1990s. He was assigned the swing shift in Tower 10. He saw a person moving about in Tower 8. Knowing no one was supposed to be in there he felt some one was playing a prank.

He called his command and stated, “Knock it off.” He was told the tower was abandoned and locked. Thinking his mind was playing tricks he eliminated several possibilities—it wasn’t a tree limb or a trick of the light—no it was definitely a person.

He called control again. This time the radio was handed to the commander of the new prison who happened to be there. The MP told him “I see someone in there. Who’s in Tower 8?” The commander told him firmly no one was there.

The soldier continued to see the figure moving about so he thought maybe it was Tower 7 playing the prank but he received a negative response. At the end of his shift his relief told him the story about the guard’s suicide.

This soldier told him in stride that what he saw was a ghost.

Leavenworth cemetery
The most famous ghost seen at Fort Leavenworth is Catherine Sutler. I tell this story here. Catherine’s ghost is seen at night wandering around with a lantern at the fort’s cemetery and on the adjacent golf course.

This story over the years has been embellished so much it has become legendary. Tragically, it is believed Catherine is still looking for her two lost children.

People are told if they encounter her ghost that they should tell her that her children are safe and she can rest.

The Rookery
The Rookery is the oldest occupied home on the base. Since the early 1900s it has been used as a family residence.

One ghost seen at this location is more aggressive. The story goes a lady was at the post while her husband was out on a cavalry patrol. Indians attacked the fort and this wife was tortured and killed.

She is known as the Lady in White since she wears a white dress. She has grey tangled hair. Witnesses who have encountered her state she screamed and then ran after them.

Carlos Munoz and his family once lived on one side of the Rookery duplex. One day while driving back from Fort Scott his wife startled him when she exclaimed, “Oh, my God.”

He looked around expecting to see something blocking their car. His wife was waving a book she had bought in his face. “This is who I saw in the basement.”

It was a picture of Major Ogden. He oversaw the construction of Fort Riley in 1853. While quartermaster he lived at the Rookery. He died during a cholera outbreak.

Mr. Munoz’s wife had seen his apparition. She stated he wore a western-style shirt and vest and rough cloth pants. Munoz and his children later saw this apparition as well.

While living at the Rookery the Munoz family also heard constant noises. Mr. Munoz was able to debunk some sounds others remained a mystery. By the time the family moved out he was convinced the building was haunted.

Before they left he called in a paranormal team that intended to stay the night. This team left after only 2 hours. They told Munoz that four ghosts were in residence and that Ogden had told them arrogantly to “get out.”

Thursday, May 19, 2016

The Kehoe House

Kehoe House
This historic home in Savannah, Georgia was designed by DeWitt Bruyn and built at a cost of $25,000 for the William Kehoe family.

William Kehoe immigrated to America in 1842 at the age of 10 with his family from Ireland. The Kehoe family settled in the Old Fort District of Savannah—an area with many Irish families.

William was apprenticed to an iron foundry and worked his way up to foreman. His hard work paid off, for he eventually bought the foundry. He became one of Savannah’s leading businessmen.

William Kehoe
After being married for several years he and his wife, Anne and their 10 children moved into their new Queen Anne style mansion in 1892. His heirs sold the home in 1930.

After this it was used as a funeral home for 47 years (1930-1977). Then the New York Jests football star, Joe Namath owned the home until 1990. It then underwent renovations and opened as a Bed and Breakfast.

Today it is run by HLC Hotels and is run as a Boutique inn. It has a 4-star rating.

One constant in the home during these years has been the ongoing presence of several deceased Kehoe family members. Four members of the 1st generation of the Kehoe Family who died in the house have been seen in the home.

Mrs. Anne Kehoe is known as the Lady in White. Toward the end of her life she suffered crippling Arthritis and was confined to the second floor. It is here where her ghost is seen the most.

She is spotted writing at a desk and she often abruptly awakens guests with her presence. She is seen sitting on the edge of their beds. At other times she is seen on the 3rd floor. This is where she would visit her grandchildren.

William Kehoe’s ghost is seen throughout the home. On one occasion he opened all the locked doors on the ground floor at the same time.

It is sometimes reported that the couple had twin sons that died in the house. But actually it was two young daughters, Anne and Mary who died of Roseola within 3 days of each other. The girls are mistaken for twins because they were close in age.

Their distinctive features identify them. They both have blonde hair and blue eyes. They are playful spirits who are often heard running on the top floors.

Haunted guest room.
They giggle and whisper into each other’s ears. They are seen standing at the foot of guest beds. One female guest reported feeling her face stroked. The girls also like to turn doorknobs.

Today it is said rooms 201 and 203 are the most active. Besides the ghosts seen, lights are turned on and off when these rooms are empty.

The doorbell in the home also chimes when no one is outside.

Monday, April 18, 2016

Woodruff Fontaine House

Woodruff Fontaine House
This old mansion is a museum that offers tours today. It was originally built in 1870.

Amos Woodruff came to Memphis, Tennessee in 1845. He was a carriage maker that made his fortune fast. He then delved into a variety of other enterprises.

All were successful. He ran two banks, a railroad, and a hotel. He had a hand in construction and the lumber and cotton industries.

A leading member of Memphis society he ran for mayor twice. He had a fancy mansion built for his family in 1870. It was in the French Victorian style with Mansard roofs, arched windows and stately columns on the porch.

A carriage house, courtyard fountain, elaborate gardens and a sweeping front lawn surrounded his new mansion.

In 1871, his daughter Mollie married in the home. She became Mollie Fontaine Henning and inherited the property when her father died. None of her children lived to adulthood. She lived in the mansion until she died.

Her ghost is one of three that haunt the home to this day.

Another successful family by the name of Fontaine moved into the mansion. Noland Fontaine was a cotton baron.

In 1929 the mansion became an antique shop and then in 1959 an art school moved in. By 1961, the once grand mansion was in desperate need of repairs.

A local Memphis preservation society (APTA) came to the rescue. They restored the mansion and opened the Woodruff Fontaine Museum in 1964.

Mollie Woodruff Henning

Rose Room named after patterned
wallpaper in room.
It was around this time that Mollie Woodruff Henning’s ghost became more active. She often hangs out in her old bedroom, known as the Rose Room, on the 2nd floor.

She is known to sit on the bed leaving dents so people know she was there. Since the Rose Room is roped off to tours no one is allowed close to this bed.

Visitors have seen the rocking chair move in this room and the bed covers rustle. It is here where people note drastic changes in the temperature.

Indent in bed in Rose Room.
Lights go on and off in this room as well as the rest of the mansion without explanation.

Mollie’s ghost startled a museum docent one day when she appeared in the Rose Room. She informed this lady that she preferred the furniture in the room be placed back in its original arrangement.

Her ghost wanders throughout the mansion. She likes to follow people that are doing something different or interesting. One paranormal team investigating the mansion went down into the basement.

Evidently Mollie followed them for they captured her voice on one recorder. She told them that she rarely went into the basement.

Unlike Mollie, who is a friendly ghost, another entity in the mansion is an angry male. He ripped off the necklace from a staff member one day and his negative spirit is sensed on both the 1st and 3rd floors.

A paranormal team caught his gruff voice during one EVP session. He answered “no” to their questions. His ghost has not been connected to anyone who once lived in the home.

Yet another male ghost in the home is believed to be the Fontaine’s son. Another docent who works for the preservation society saw his ghost one Sunday afternoon when she was the only one in the mansion.

Elliot Fontaine
As she made her way up to the 3rd floor she spotted a man sitting at the foot of the stairs that lead to the 4th floor tower room. He was so lifelike she at first thought he must be a man that found himself locked in the mansion after a tour.


But when she looked closer she realized he looked just like a photograph she had seen of the Fontaine son, Elliot. Frightened she backed down the stairs and closed her eyes. When she looked once more he was gone.